Tainted Soul


There are a few times when the spark of magic that fuels a sorcerer comes from a source that no one would use voluntarily. When a lich’s phylactery is destroyed there is a chance it was holding a particularly terrible curse. A shard of the lich’s soul is transferred to the soul from the vanquisher, tainting him without him noticing until they have children, which carry such curse with them. Those children have the power they need to use the darkest of magic in ways no one should.

Tainted Soul Features

Sorcerer level Feature
1st Tainted Spells, Dark Side
6th Stench from the Grave
14th Defiling Magic
18th Metanecromorphosis

Tainted spells
1st-level Tainted Soul feature

You learn additional spells when you are able to cast spells of certain levels in this class, as shown below. Each of these spells counts as a sorcerer spell for you, but it doesn’t count against the number of sorcerer spells you know. Whenever you gain a sorcerer level, you can replace one spell you gained from this feature with another spell of the same level, but this new spell must be a necromancy spell from the sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list.

  1. Cause Fear
  2. Ray of Enfeeblement
  3. Summon Undead, Spirit Shroud
  4. Negative Energy Flood (deals only 4d12 if cast at this level)
  5. Contagion, Danse Macabre

Dark Side
1st-level Tainted Soul feature

Starting at 1st level, a dark power flows through your magic. Whenever you cast a spell that deals necrotic damage, you can re-roll a 1 in one damage die per level of the spell (cantrips are considered to be level 1 for this feature).

Stench from the Grave
6th-level Tainted Soul feature

The more you use your dark magic, the more the toll it takes on your body and soul. Starting at 6th level, your life starts to dwindle slightly, giving way for death to take its place. You gain resistance to necrotic damage, and you no longer require food or drink. If you have a familiar, it gets the Undead Fortitude trait (see the Zombie entry in the Monster Manual).

Defiling Magic
14th-level Tainted Soul feature

You draw upon the vitality of nearby life to fuel your magic, heedless of the harm you cause to the land and your allies. Starting at 14th level, whenever you make an attack roll or a damage roll as part of casting a spell, you can use a sorcery point to reroll, but must use the second result. If the spell calls for a saving throw, you can use a sorcery point to impose disadvantage on it. If you use a sorcery point this way, each ally within the range of the spell takes necrotic damage equal to your level plus the level of the spell. This damage treats immunity to necrotic damage as resistance and ignores resistance to necrotic damage.

You no longer need to sleep, and healing spells cast on you have their effects halved.

18th-level Tainted Soul feature

At the pinnacle of your existence, you embrace death as the new source of your unlife and magic. You no longer need to breath, and have immunity to necrotic and poison damage. You also are immune to the exhaustion, frightened, paralyzed and poisoned conditions. For game purposes, you become an undead, and the secrets to create a phylactery are known to you. If you craft one, you gain the Legendary Resistance, Rejuvenation and Frightening Gaze powers from the Lich entry in the Monster Manual. The DC for any saving throw is equal to your spellcasting.


Playing a character that quickly realizes is cursed can give origin to an extraordinary story and roleplaying opportunities. Of course, it can also turn into a tool and excuse for chaotic players. This subclass was created as an example of what any player or DM interested in our First Creative Challenge can submit as a participating entry. Give it a try and tell us what you think in the comments!

4 Comentarios Agrega el tuyo

  1. juanrusso dice:

    Is it truly possible to use Darkness for Good?

    1. Gonz dice:

      «There are two things that can vanquish darkness: birght light… and an even deeper darkness.»

Leave a Reply